Minutes of the meeting of the **LICENSING COMMITTEE** held at the Council Offices, Whitfield on Tuesday, 2 June 2015 at 5.00 pm.

Present:

Chairman: Councillor P S Le Chevalier

- Councillors: P M Brivio B W Butcher D G Cronk M R Eddy B Gardner B Glayzer D Hannent L A Keen S M Le Chevalier D P Murphy M J Ovenden M Rose D A Sargent
- Officers: Solicitor to the Council Team Leader – Democratic Support Democratic Support Officer

1 <u>ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN</u>

The Democratic Support Officer called for nominations for the Chairman of the Licensing Committee. It was moved by Councillor D P Murphy duly seconded and

RESOLVED: That Councillor P S Le Chevalier be elected Chairman of the Committee for the ensuing Council year.

2 <u>APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN</u>

The Chairman called for nominations for the Vice-Chairman of the Licensing Committee.

It was moved by Councillor M R Eddy and duly seconded that Councillor B Gardner be nominated Vice-Chairman.

It was moved by Councillor M J Ovenden and duly seconded that Councillor B W Butcher be nominated Vice-Chairman.

On there being an equality of votes the Chairman used his casting vote and

RESOLVED: That Councillor B Gardner be appointed as Vice-Chairman of the Committee for the ensuing Council year.

3 <u>APOLOGIES</u>

There were no apologies for absence received from Members.

4 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest made by Members.

5 MINUTES

The Minutes of the meeting of the Committee held on 4 March 2015 were approved as a correct record and signed by the Chairman.

6 <u>MINUTES OF THE SUB-COMMITTEE MEETINGS</u>

The Minutes of the meetings of the Licensing Sub-Committee held on 11 March 2015, 16 March 2015 and 24 March 2015 were received and noted.

7 <u>LICENSING ACT 2003 AND GAMBLING ACT 2005 - APPOINTMENT OF</u> <u>LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEES AND CHAIRMAN OF SUB-COMMITTEES</u>

Members considered the report of the Director of Governance which suggested the composition of the five Licensing Sub-Committees, each comprising of three members, to hear applications under the Licensing Act 2003 and Gambling Act 2005. Members were also asked to appoint the Chairmen of those Sub-Committees.

- RESOLVED: (a) That the five Licensing Committees and their Chairmen for the ensuing Council year be as follows:
 - (A) Councillors B W Butcher (Chairman), L A Keen, M J Ovenden
 - (B) Councillors M R Eddy, B Gardner (Chairman), P S Le Chevalier
 - (C) Councillors D G Cronk, S M Le Chevalier (Chairman), D P Murphy
 - (D) Councillors D Hannent (Chairman), S C Manion, D A Sargent
 - (E) Councillors P M Brivio (Chairman), B Glayzer, M Rose
 - (b) That the Democratic Support Officer be given authority to vary the composition and Chairmanship of Licensing Sub-Committees when circumstances dictate.

The meeting ended at 5.08 pm.